A much needed trip to destress!


Another busy week passed and all of us were aching to launch today. The original plan was to have Philip, Don, Jimbosan + his bro Kelvin and myself out yaking. However Philip caught a cold and was out for this trip. Rest well mate!!

As usual we met up at our weekly morning breakfast coffee-shop before heading to get our prawns. Bump into Merv the fish magnet + Ian the captain! After a short conversation we parted ways to our launch sites

We parked and starting our unpacking. Don had a rough morning with his echo-sounder not working on his cables and by mistake he left both of his rods at his carpark since last night. Thankfully to Jimmy, he identified the issue was the fuse and he had one in his car! After a few modifications, Don’s echo-sounder came to life. A delightful shout ‘IT”S ALIVE!!’ Filled the air as Don was all excited.

Another good news was that his rods were still at the carpark and was safely kept by his Dad!! Thankfully Jimmy once again had a spare rod to borrow and soon we were out to do what we suppose to do. YAK FISHING!!!

Here’s Jimmy on his FeelFree Moken! Really nice yak!

Don da Man!

After a short while of paddling against the current, we finally reach the spot!
Time for my trusty GPS to lead me the way! With the sounder showing a drop from 9ft to 13ft with some rocky bottoms. Down our prawns went!

EchoSounder reading.

GPS directional help! Can’t live without now a days on my yak! No more unnecessary searching with pin point accuracy!

First in to a fish was Don with a juvenile Ang Cho! He was soon on a roll with a couple of more. However releasing every one of them! I think there were a couple of pictures taken by Jimmy. Lets wait for them.
Jimmy on the other hand had a few fishes as well on that spot.

As for myself I managed to bag myself a tiger grouper from it!

With a smaller grouper to follow up which was promptly released.

The smell of freedom!

In the end I took back 2 Ang Cho and my tiger grouper for the plates whereas the rest of the fish caught were all released. We had to rush back to our launch point as we could see a huge thunder storm coming from our backs with the occasional lighting flashes. All rods were then kept low.

We also bumped into a fellow kayak’er on a tequlia. Hope you had a good days of fishing today. Overall it was quite a shiong trip as we had to kept on paddling back to spot as the drift was strong today. Nonetheless still a fun trip!

About mathewtan

Just a simple guy based in Singapore. Blessed with a wonderful wife with 2 naughty kids LOL... Fuel with the passion on Fishing. View all posts by mathewtan

8 responses to “A much needed trip to destress!

  • Melvin

    Hey Matt can i join you guys on the next outing ?
    My number is 97242919.

    • mathewtan

      Hi Melvin,
      I’m not sure when I will launch next as I’m in the midst of moving my place this week.

      In any case, the earliest would be beginning of July. As I’ve got next 2 weeks night pack for boat fishing 🙂

      Anyway any introduction to yourself?

      • Melvin

        Hey
        i am quite new to kayak fishing, i do fish, bought my kayak (straitedge) sometime late last year launch once, trying to find some kaki to go out with.
        sure just text me as and when you are free to launch.

  • Melody

    Hi! I’m Melody, a journalist at The Straits Times Life!. We are interested in featuring you and your hobby for our weekend edition (june 19th). Do let me know how I can contact you directly. My email address is as listed. You can call me as well. Thanks lots!

  • Vincent

    Dear Mathew,
    Saw your kayak fishing reports and really quite inspired by you to take up this spot….singapore fishing spot is getting lesser and guess only way is like u to explore new grounds. I would also like to take up this new venture, i do have alot of questions for u with regards to getting the kayak n other necessary equipment. *Email removed by Mathew for SPAM protection*
    Cheers

    • mathewtan

      Hi Vincent, thanks so much in visiting my humble site. Hi there, I will be dropping an email to you real soon.

      Regards,
      Mathew

Leave a comment